Foxin’ Hell!

Foxin’ Hell!

I saw an article today about a ‘huge freaky monster’ of a fox that has been killed recently by a farmer, as it was savaging his livestock.

Here’s the link: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2110098/Britains-biggest-fox-killed-Alan-Hepworth-Monster-measured-4ft-9in-weighed-38lbs.html

 
Haul: Alan Hepworth holds up the giant fox he shot in Aberdeenshire

It measured 4’9″ from tip to tail, and weighed in at 38lbs!

Just look at the pics in that article!

So, is it only me who read this and thought “That’s about normal size for a fox, isn’t it?”?

All the “we should kill all the foxes” and “bring back fox hunting” thoughts aside (which I agree with), isn’t that just a fully grown fox?

I grew up in a tiny village called Alvechurch, where they still point at passing planes and a 5 minute walk in any direction will put you in the middle of endless fields.  I lived there until a few years ago, and up until that time would often get out and about with the local wildlife (the animals, I mean – not the drunk girls in the bust stop outside the Red Lion).  I’d see foxes lots, living opposite the graveyard, and became pretty skilled at calling foxes to me.

They’re blind as buggery, and if you can imitate the sound of a small dying creature, they will come loping over to you and get within feet before they realise you’re almost 6ft tall and rather pink looking for a rabbit.

I have a very fond memory of walking over fields with my fiancee and seeing a fox across the other side of the field.  I grabbed my fiancee and told her to stand still, then did my magic and started calling the fox.  That sounds like a euphemism.  I mean, I called the fox over and this very fine example of foxlihood came bounding up to us and got very close indeed before legging it off again.

He wasn’t the biggest, but the ones I’d see in the street around the graveyard I’d say were the size of the one in that article.  It’s been a few years since I last saw one of them, so I’m not going to say they were bigger, but as I remember it they probably were a touch bigger.  And notice the ‘THEY’ – because usually there would be around 3 that size.  On one magical night there were 5 of them wondering the roads!

Should I be calling the press?

Are the Alvechurch Foxes some freaky breed?

It hardly worries me, when as you may have read in previous blogs, I believe I’ve had a couple of encounters around there with something much bigger, and possibly cat-like…

Stark contrast: Foxshooter Roy Lupton displays a normal fox beside the 26lb monster shot by Keith Talbot to show the difference in size

5 thoughts on “Foxin’ Hell!

  1. That’s quite a talent – being able to mimic small dying animals to attract foxes. Wonder if the same ability serves to attract other species? My daughter lives in a place that often sees bears and the occasional cougar. The former is actually a little less worrisome than the latter. (I once saw a bear lumbering by the house, just outside the window of her house. About two feet away from the living room window. Bizarre and unreal.)

    She told me once about a time when she sat on a park bench overlooking a bay at night when she heard a large sound behind her – from an animal that was trying to be stealthy. Her survival instinct kicked in and she stood up and roared. Whatever it was scurried away. She said it was large. We both think it was likely a cougar. That’s some scary shit right there.

    Your description of Alvechurch is pretty cool. Have you ever gone back?

    • Oh yes – I only live about 10 miles away and still have family there. I’ll be going back to near where I had one encounter with something that may be a ‘large black cat’ very soon to harvest some wild garlic.

      Cougars and bears wondering around would be very surreal to witness. There MUST be some sound that would get them curious so they come over to have a closer look. but you might also find the sound that pisses them off so they come over to shut you up!

      I’d probably still give it a try!

      • In the case of cougars – I think it’s their sense of smell that first alerts them. Then they start stalking. I think my daughter saw whatever it was out of the corner of her eye, and then stopped to listen. Had she got up to run, it would have been game over. Now of course she’s hyper-paranoid about anyone being out on their own after dark. There have been a few cougar incidents, usually involving pets that have been eaten, and I think one child that was attacked. The week of this particular incident, there had been a cougar alert.

        Of course she lives in a rainforest area so it’s maybe not as crazy as it sounds. (But it’s in CANADA for Pete’s sake. That makes it weird.) 🙂

  2. I wouldn’t want to meet one this size on a dark night, it’s a bit of a monster (foxzilla?)! You need to post an MP3 demonstrating how to make that sound. I’d love to try it out.

Leave a Reply

