Winter Friggin’ Winter

Winter Friggin’ Winter

“What did you do in The Great War, Nasty Evil Ninja?”

I keep telling you – I wasn’t in any -ing war!  Having said that, I was wounded in ‘Nam.

Birming’Nam.

Weirdly enough, from what I can work out, I’ve picked up a nasty knee injury by sitting on the couch, drinking Bud and eating cheese and chilli covered nachos whilst watching the Superbowl.  Either that or Lill Boo was practising her wrestling moves on me when I was asleep afterwards.

Either way I woke up with pain and ruptured synovial membrane.  Bah!

As the internet is down at work I figured I’d update you on random thoughts, and a bit about what’s going on in my life.

Not bloody much!  It’s Winter – so I haven’t been riding my bike.  It’s not how it used to be…  I mean, I did 10 or 11 Winters riding sportsbikes on the snow and ice!  Looking back at it now I have no idea how I ever survived?  I’m so glad I managed to capture a few rides on video, because who is going to believe that I rode a ZX9R through fairly deep snow in conditions so slippery that I actually started sliding backwards down a hill!  Well here is the proof:

Aside from being pretty damned sure I’d never try and repeat anything like that (I actually rode my VFR750 in much deeper snow and slid backwards down a different hill), I have to admit that there is a part of me that misses it.  I’m not sure if it was ‘fun’ exactly, but it’s probably more to do with how much of a thrill it was.  How extreme.  How unique.

But after 11 years of that I learned to drive a car just over a year ago, and find I also love driving.  Compared to being on a bike, if you get out of shape in a car, you have time to go and make a sandwich, have a quick look on Facebook, and THEN do something to stop you from crashing.  It’s easy as Hell!

Winter is pretty much dead time for me.  I can’t do trackdays or anything I want, and there isn’t even any motor racing on TV.  Apart from rallying – and that just doesn’t cut it compared to waiting to see the Moto 2 boys slugging it out with 20 bikes going for the lead!

So I’m on Facebook a lot.  Playing stupid games.  And if I can safely sneak it in without Lill Boo getting bored to death (no, this is not inuendo!), then I’ll get the Xbox 360 on.

I’m still waiting with bated breath for GTA 5 to come out, but that’s ages away.  I discovered the Dragon Age games a few months back, and sunk many hours into those, and have just started on Elder Scrolls: Oblivion.

I think I still prefer Fallout for that type of game, but Elder Scolls is pretty damned good!  It should tide me over until the snow pisses off and I can get my kicks scraping my knees on the tarmac again!

What do you lot do to keep you amused through the Winter months?

As a side note to all this, I learnt the other day that one of my favourite people on YouTube for his hilarious bike vids, mask pranks, and other malarkey – Svengalie – has passed away…

He seemed like a really good bloke, and it appears it may have been a suicide.  It goes to show that you never really know what’s going on in someone’s Real World away from their online antics…  Such a shame.  He was only 30 and had kids.  My dearest thoughts go out to them and his friends and family.

I’ll leave you with the first ever vlog I saw of his (before I even knew what a vlog was) that made me laugh so much.  Hopefully it will do the same for you, and spare a thought for Steven Love:

4 thoughts on “Winter Friggin’ Winter

  1. Hi there,

    Interesting blog on the ZX9R that you got there. I’m thinking to purchase a C1 model but came across posts on the NET saying that its prone to transmission, gear box issues due to a poorly designed gearbox. Specifically, the problem seems to occur with 3rd or 5th gears. Did your bike have an issue? I was wondering you could advise me on this? The one put up for sale has 50,000km and owner claims that that there’s no issue with the transmission.

    Also, does it run hot enough to be uncomfortable when in town? Singapore’s temperature is about 26-32 degrees celcius usually.

    Thank you.

    SK

    • Hi thanks for commenting!

      My C2 was perfect until around 35,000 miles, and now my gearbox has lost 3rd and 4th gear and I need to get the engine out and put a new gearbox in! It seems to me like this WILL happen to all C moder 9r’s and it’s just a case of when it happens. It’s a shame because other than that the bike has been flawless and by far the most reliable bike I’ve owned. Once I have fixed the gearbox all will be well again, but if I bought another C model I’d make sure the gearbox had already be changed… Otherwise go for an E or F model where they’d fixed all gearbox problems.

      It’s a pretty comfortable bike around town, and I don’t think it gets any hottere than most other bikes so you shouldn’t have any problems there.

      Even with the gearbox problem, It’s still the best bike I’ve owned! 🙂

  2. Thanks for your quick reply. Hope that your bike is up and running soon. Spring is on the way. I read that the Z1000 transmission can be fitted in the C1 engine. Are you planning to do the repairs yourself?

    The bike offered for sale has a stock transmission though the owner said that it has not had any gear issues so far. I think I will take your advice and pass this one.

    BTW I watched your video of your ridding in the snow. It looks downright scary! Do you get ppl looking at your in disbelief as you ride past them? Do you see anyone else riding in the same weather conditions?

    • LOL when I’ve been mad enough to venture out on snow, I have to say that I’ve never seen anyone else on two wheels! The worst time, in around 6″ of snow for 10 miles I only saw about 5 other cars on the roads! And that little journey also ended when I started sliding back down another hill…

      Yes I will be doing the repairs myself most likely. If I come into some money I might pay someone else to do it, but I’m pretty sure I’d be able to do it. At worst I think I’d get the engine out myself and then let someone else take over.

      Hope you find a decent bike soon – you’re already missing the weather!

Leave a Reply

