Simoncelli Fatal Moto GP Crash – RIP Sideshow Bob

Simoncelli Fatal Moto GP Crash – RIP Sideshow Bob

I woke up late today, having missed the Moto GP race from Malaysia which was screened in the early hours of this morning, and logging onto Facebook was shocked to the core to see a lot of statuses saying that 24 year old Italian racer Marco Simoncelli was dead.

https://i2.wp.com/www.motorcyclenews.com/upload/282551/images/simoncelli-slide.jpg

Not fully wanting to believe it, I clicked on a link to the video.  If you haven’t seen the one doing the rounds, it shows Colin Edwards and Valentino Rossi battling it out.  They come around a right-hander, and just before the exit you see Simoncelli come into shot, hanging off to the right of his bike, obviously in big trouble, and he comes straight across from the left in front of Rossi and Edwards.

You see Edwards brake and try his best to tighten his line, but there’s no chance.  He hits Simoncelli directly in the back just before Rossi, alongside him, also hits him in the head…

It was quite similar to the crash which claimed the life of Shoya Tomizawa in Moto 2 last year.

I’m gutted.

This year I’ve grown to really like Simoncelli, aka Sideshow Bob.  He’s exactly the sort of character that Moto GP needed in an otherwise fairly crap year.  I was fully behind him when he had what was blatantly a ‘racing incident’ with Pedrosa, after which a few of the top riders condemned Simoncelli’s riding style.  For what?  Overtaking?  Racing?  Making the sport exciting again???

I think with him becoming the underdog after this it really sealed it for me – he was a new favourite!

And he was really funny in interviews (not just because of his ridiculously huge hair) – telling Lorenzo after he’d had a whinge that he might have to be arrested.

https://i1.wp.com/www.speedzilla.com/forums/attachments/street-track/26002d1273237230-simoncelli-opens-up-not-afraid-offend-simocelli_lupo_mannaro.jpg

He also had one of those distinctive riding styles that was instantly recognisable.  He was a big lad, so against all the other jockey-sized riders it was knees and elbows all over the place – and of course he was FAST!

Without a doubt he’d have been a championship winner.

It’s a very sad day for the sport.  It’s strange how much it’s hit me, considering I don’t really know him.

My thoughts go out to his friends and family – and also to Edwards and Rossi.  I hope they can find peace with themselves through the tragedy.

I’ll miss watching you, Sideshow Bob – ride free, dude!

https://i2.wp.com/www.lean-angles.com/wordpress/wp-content/uploads/2011/09/Simoncelli-signs-deal.jpg

https://i0.wp.com/nimg.sulekha.com/sports/original700/marco-simoncelli-2011-6-3-10-22-39.jpg

EDIT RE FATAL CRASH VIDEO

As mentioned, the first I knew was a Facebook status and a link to the video of the accident.

The video is… a crash video.  Sure, it’s shocking because you know someone lost their life, and being the one to hit them you can bet that Colin Edwards and Valentino Rossi are having a very tough time of it.

A lot of people are instantly getting the footage banned when it shows up (hence me not bothering to try and link to it here) saying it’s disrespectful etc… but why?  There’s no disrespect in watching a great riders final moments, and I’m glad I got to see it, because otherwise I wouldn’t believe it – I just wouldn’t know all the facts.  Watch the video and you can see how tragic it was, and how unavoidable.  It was Simoncellis skill at being able to save the lowside on his knee  that took him back across the track, whereas a less skilled rider would have just been in the gravel… and ironically, safe.

If you don’t want to watch it – don’t.  But don’t tell me what I should and shouldn’t be able to see.  Censorship is NEVER a good thing.  This happened in front of millions, and if you think your crusade to stop anyone seeing it will work you’re deluding yourself.  Just don’t watch it.  It’s that simple.

I will watch it again, and I’ll feel the loss just as much.  Right now I’m raising a glass to Marco Simoncelli and toasting a great racer.

6 thoughts on “Simoncelli Fatal Moto GP Crash – RIP Sideshow Bob

  1. I agree with all your sentiments here James. I think these are very heartfelt and honest words from you. He certainly livened MotoGP up and, like you said, I thought he was the best reason to watch. I think he would have really come on leaps and bounds next year and I am sure he has inspired many riders of the future. Let’s hope. RIP Marco x

    • It was always great to watch him because you just KNEW he’d go for any chance that was there. He’d done his crashing, and it’s exactly people like that who setlle down a bit and then come through as one of the best. He was well on his way, and if he didn’t win the title next year it wouldn’t have been far off. Such a shame…

  2. Marco came into Motogp and was wild and different he had an aggressive riding style that at first alot of us questioned. He made some questionable moves and alot of riders saying he needed to calm down. I am a die hard Ben SpIes fan but I really enjoyed watching Marco ride he was awesome at times and would have been one of the greats of the sport. We will all miss his colorful persona and passion. God bless Marco’s family, friends and associates during this very difficult time. I find myself crying the further I go I will miss you Marco Simoncelli …..

Leave a Reply

