Cut Price Bargain Bullshit

Cut Price Bargain Bullshit

[RANT ON]

Have you ever looked at the cut price foods in a supermarket?  They’re almost out of date and ready for the bin that evening if nobody claims them

An absolute bargain, and you’ll see hordes of Lummoxes sifting through them at any time of the day or night.

One day you may even be lucky/desperate enough to get to the front of the pack for a look yourself.  And what do you see?

Fuck all is what!

You find some sliced ham in a packet that looks like it’s been raped by a Corgi on amphetamines, with childrens fingerprints on the meat, a cornflake that’s somehow got inside the packaging, and the first of a new strain of penicilin starting to grow in one corner, and what’s the massive price slash?

From £3.00 for a brand new non-poisonous pack of ham, down to £2.29.

What?

Yes – 71 whole pennies off for something that will either kill a Lummox or go in the bin.

And it’s not just the shops who seem to have stopped trying to give people genuine bargains!

People often post on our work email system selling their old goods.

Books for £3 each – when any charity shop or Ebay will have them at under £1…

Two tickets for Take That live in Scandanavia TONIGHT!!!  Cost £40 each – will sell for £75 for both!!!

One gold ring, made of clay and broken in 47 places – £58!

Want to book a last minute hotel room?  Was £80… now, at 11pm they’ll practically gift you the otherwise empty room for £70!!!

Fuck off you tight twats!!!

Where have all the bargains gone?  Would people rather just lose out completley rather than make something back?

[RANT OFF]
 
4 thoughts on “Cut Price Bargain Bullshit

  1. This subject struck a chord with me……Whilst I don’t find myself elbowing my way past the hordes that you do find around the discounted section, (and in the past I have actually found an absence of bargain hunters at these sections but I guess even the nuclear looking meat here would put someone like Homer off) I do love a bargain. This is much to my detrement am usually left with shit. This doesn’t just relate to food items: clothes, furniture, furnishings, cosmetics, jewellery. So, as I say, quite topical as I am thinking of moving again and the prospect of lugging all the crap I have acquired over the years is depressing me. I have tried to sell some (at what I think are bargain prices) on local sites but no interest which reaffirms I really do buy SHIT!

  2. yeah that is the bleeding typical response I get. I did a Vide Grenier here a few months ago: amongst things for sale were articles of my clothing (mostly unworn!) half of which were bloody good quality. This woman went through them flopping them over her arm (each was indiviudually priced). I counted 15 items. She then said (in English, she was English) I will give you 6 euros for the lot. ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHH she caught me at the height of the afternoon when I was tired. I still want to kill her,,,,,,,,,,,,

Leave a Reply

