Negative Responses

Negative Responses

Something that really pisses me off is the casual negativeness that everyone seems to accept.

The biggest example of this is when you say to someone “How are you?” or similar.

The response almost EVERYONE seems to give?

“Oh… I’m not too bad.”

Not TOO bad?!? Like, you’re BAD, but compared to usual it’s a little better?!

Fuck you all!

I always answer with “I’m good*, thanks!”

How about you?

*If you’re not ‘good’, 99% of people asking don’t give a shit so won’t want to hear about it, anyway.

11 thoughts on “Negative Responses

  1. Nah. Too generic.

    “Well, I’ve stopped wetting the bed in my sleep. And I’ve learned how to barf on command. Wanna see?”

    “My dog died. But that’s OK ’cause we were out of groceries anyway, and he was kind of tender.”

    “Not too sure how I am. The forty other people in my head are all fine. Except Betty. She’s being a bitch. I can tell because my nose keeps running.”

  2. You might be asking the wrong way. Do it like Joey from “Friends” … “How YOU doin’?” Of course, that might make some of your male friends a bit uncomfortable. πŸ˜€

  3. Wow! That’s what I have to say about this book, after having been raised in the Dale Carnegie “How to Win Friends and Influence People” and Maxwell’s “21 Irrefutable Laws of Leadership” School of human relations. That school of thought prescribes that you treat others with respect and dignity, expect the best of others, protect others, and lead through positive example.

    What lead me to this book is not everyone responds to the above, and whenever I encountered deception, insincerity, or deceit, I always assumed it was a result of my personal leadership shortcomings.

    After reading this book, I think I’ve experienced my share of invalidators, both those I’ve worked for, and subordinates (who attempt to use the invalidation techniques described in the book to subtly manipulate). And in retrospect, I’ve probably been guilty of some of the invalidation techniques described in the book.

    Just as Carter states in the book that some people have personality disorders, and some people are criminals AND have personality disorders (i.e. the former doesn’t excuse the latter), he also makes the distinction of those who unintentionally slip into invalidation behavior, and those who are hardcore, guilt-free INVALIDATORS.

    BOTTOMLINE: I’d highly recommend this book to anyone trying to understand others, whether for leadership or just to improve personal relations. It’s a quick read and Carter’s writing style is engaging and entertaining while remaining of topic.

Leave a Reply

