Yoke-Mounting The Veho HD10+ And Remote Operation

Yoke-Mounting The Veho HD10+ And Remote Operation

Continuing the saga of how to get the most of my Veho Veho VCC-005-MUVI-HD10+ camera, I again went to the ‘official’ Veho crafted mounts – this time I stuck the slide-in-and-click base pad onto my top yoke.  On my ZX9R this isn’t ideal, because there’s very little space to stick it down, and because of its size it had to be stuck on at a slight angle.

It was about then that I realised any movement of the bars risked pressing the camera against the metal fairing brace!  Unlike the sticky mount with the velcro that I used to mount the camera to my tank reccently, this was intsantly stuck to the yoke as if it had been welded on!  Even after a minute or so it was stuck so hard I can probably lift the bike off the ground and it would still stay stuck!  Great for withstanding high speeds, but make sure you plan out your mounting point for this one very carefully!

Luckily, as it turns out, the camera only just about touches the fairing brace on full left lock.  In the video you’ll hear it vibrate against it as I’m turning the bike around – but obviously when actually riding the bike at speed the bars barely turn, so this isn’t an issue.

There is some vibration, but far less than there was from the fuel tank.  The view is quite good of the clocks and through the screen, but you only get the top half of the speedo and rev counter in view.

Removal is very quick and easy, as you simply push two clips together and slide the mount and camera from the sticky pad, much like a rucksack strap fastener.

You’ll see from the video that I also did a night time test.  The HD10+ performed better than expected – the picture is still very grainy, but where there is a good light source from streetlamps or my headlight, it picks up quite a lot, and also handles oncoming headlights quite well.

I’ve had a few questions lately about the remote operation unit.  This works from radio frequencies, so doesn’t have to be pointing at the camera to operate, and seems to have a good range.  I placed the Veho at one end of my house and it still operated instantly from the remote on the far side of the house and through a wall!  So it should be absolutely fine if you’re going to bury the camera in the depths of your bike/car and operate it this way.

For the very first operation you have to ‘pair’ the remote to your camera by holding down the OK/Shutter button on the HD10+ and then turning the power switch to ‘On’.  Then you hold down the ‘Record’ and ‘Stop’ buttons together on the remote (within 3 secs of the camera powering up) and you’re done.

As ever, if you need any more advice or info on this Veho Vcc005, feel free to ask and I shall do my best to answer or test it!

Leave a Reply

