Behind The Wheel Of A Red, Snorting Italian Beast

Behind The Wheel Of A Red, Snorting Italian Beast

https://i0.wp.com/pix.motivatedphotos.com/2009/7/23/633839645050739410-TheySeeMeRollin.jpg


As it’s a few weeks before my test, and the car could come in useful for the house-moving antics before that, I decided to bite the bullet and pay out to get my car taxed and insured.

Long story short on this, but invaluable info: I used ALL the online comparison sites and was getting the odd price for 3rd Part on a Provisional driving license that came in at under £1000.  Erk.  A lot of hard work later my lowest quote was just under £700.

As a last-ditch attempt, I rang up the local insurance brokers based in my village, because they did great things with my business insurance.  They didn’t let me down – advising that if I added a random ‘second driver’ to my policy (I thought about Michael Schumacher but settled on my Mum) then the price drops.  To £470 for fully comprehensive insurance in this case!  It would have been cheaper after I’d passed my test, but I wanted some driving hours before the test…

That’s the boring stuff that might help someone, now for my first drive of MY car, and the first drive without dual controls!

My Ex-Step Dad seemed vaguely keen on taking me out in the car, and because he’s worked on it for years I thought it was a good idea incase he hears/feels anything wrong with the car.

He surprised me by saying he actually failed his first test.  Now considering he’s a National racing champion, and rebuilt his first engine when he was about 8 years old, that says it all about the true value of the UK driving test!  Any spastic can pass as long as they drive to pass the test, rather than learn to drive.

So I sat in the little Fiat.  Everything looked a bit rickety and bare compared to the modern Fiesta I’ve been learning in.

The gearbox gate felt scarily close together, so I was already looking forward to changing down when I was trying to change up a gear!  And no rev counter?!?!  WTF?!?

The good news is there’s a CD/radio player in there and a sun roof!

I started off by getting the feel of things and was very surprised by how easily it pulled away.  Especially as the handbrake was still on.  Err… OK, so it’s not the best of handbrakes, in that it doesn’t actually stop the car rolling or moving in any realistic way at all.  Apparently this is something I need to ‘get used to’.

I’d been really worried about the lack of power steering, but probably because the Fiat is so light, it was barely even noticeable!  If anything, it was better because there was much more ‘feel’.

All in all, I was expecting the old crappy car to fight me all the way, but amazingly I found it extremely easy to drive.

Neither of us died or caught fire, either, so that’s a Good Thing.

I think he’s even willing to come out with me again!

I be on tha roads fo’ realz, yo!

https://i2.wp.com/pix.motivatedphotos.com/2008/6/28/633502081079603594-They-see-me-rollin.jpg
2 thoughts on “Behind The Wheel Of A Red, Snorting Italian Beast

Leave a Reply

