Spring, Tunnels and Tracks

Spring, Tunnels and Tracks

It’s actually a bit sunny today.  No snow at all!  Could it be the start of Spring??

To say I’m getting the itch to do a track day again would imply that the itch had ever actually gone away since I last thraped a bike around Oulton Park – but on days like today I start to cast my beady eye over real dates.

I even went for a ride around at lunch in the sun!

Of course, the World Superbike season kicked off yesterday – being a Pauper and only having Freeview TV channels I haven’t seen it yet.  I’ve downloaded one race and will hopefully watch the other on the website tonight.  Either way, after the long boredom of Winter, motor racing is finally back!

I’ve been itching to try out the new covert cameras that I intend to mount to my bike (you’ve all seen my helmet cam videos now, right?), and got around to it this weekend.

I have a slight dilemma of where and how to mount them, but looking for the easy option as usual I noticed that the brake fluid reservoir has a flat, upright surface behind the screen.  I got some foam to try and cut vibrations down and taped the sucker to it for a trial run!

I was a bit worried about how much of the view I’ll lose to counter-steering.  For those who don’t know (and it should be most of you because I had no idea until after I’d had a bike for a while), when you ride a bike at anything other than falling off speed, you actually turn the handlebars in the opposite direction to the one that you want to turn in.  Most of you will have doen the same thing on a bicycle without knowing it…  The problem with this is that if the camera is mounted on the brake reservoir (which in turn is mounted on the handlebar), will it leave the camera pointing at the sky when I’m banked over in the turns?

I headed out on the wet roads to Birmingham City Centre.

There are a series of tunnels on the ring road, where of course sporty machinery sounds bloody marvellous!  To my extreme pleasure, a Porsche, Audi RS4 and a Z350 all went flying by into the tunnels, and so it would have been rude not to catch up and have a play!

It sounded awesome!

Unfortunately, both the new cam and the helmet cam both failed to get any footage of this at all.  Bastard!

On the test footage I did get the sound goes really weird above about 5mph.  Maybe it’s vibrations so it might be fixable…

I’ll try a few more ideas and then switch to a new mounting point…

Ahh well – at least it looks like we’re on our way towards warm sunshine and hot, grippy roads again at last!

Leave a Reply

